Two Quick Things!

But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you. I praise God for what he has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me?

You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.

I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me? (‭Psalms‬ ‭56‬:‭3-4, 8, 11‬ NLT)

These verses are written by David when he was in captivity by the Philistines at Gath.

In my reading this morning I couldn’t help but be encouraged in two specific areas of my life;

1. Why should I be afraid of anything in this life.

I put my trust in the Lord.  If God is for me who can be against me.  What can mere mortals do to me?  They can make this life rough.  They can kill this earthly body.  But…That is my graduation to my heaven body.  Where it is promised that there will be no more tears, nor more pain, no more suffering, and I will have a new body.  I am hoping it isn’t short and round like this one!  In all seriousness, when our perspective becomes eternal instead of temporal, the suffering in this life becomes bearable.

2. I am not alone!

No matter how much I think I am alone, I am never alone.  He has counted my tears, and saved them in bottle.  I sure hope it is a big bottle!  There have been times when I have felt invisible.  There have been times when I thought no one cared about me.  There have been times when I wanted to give up.  But…God knows.  God is with me, and if I really wanted to be honest.  I prefer Him over you any way!  If God is for me, what can mere mortals do to me?

This morning is Easter.  He is Risen.  He is no longer in the grave.  He has ascended to the right hand of the Father.  He has gone to prepare a place for me, and everyone else who repents of their sins, and accepts Jesus Christ as their Savior.  If God is for me, what can mere mortals do to me?  They tried, and could not kill Him, and He has my back!  Be encouraged this morning.  God knows all about exactly where you are at.

Leave a comment