Maybe That is Why?

But if his descendants forsake my instructions and fail to obey my regulations, if they do not obey my decrees and fail to keep my commands, then I will punish their sin with the rod, and their disobedience with beating. But I will never stop loving him nor fail to keep my promise to him. No, I will not break my covenant; I will not take back a single word I said. (‭Psalms‬ ‭89‬:‭30-34‬ NLT)

And God still hasn’t changed!

For those wondering this is a picture of my wife and I standing in front of what many believe to be the tomb where Jesus was buried this past November!

Quick context-This is a psalm written about the covenant the Lord made with David.

The truth of these words apply to us today as well.  We are foolish when we think there are no consequences for wrong choices.  We are naive if we think we have gotten away with some secret sin.  The Lord sees and knows everything.  There are always consequences.  While we may never see or feel the consequences of all of the sins we have committed, it doesn’t change the truth that there was consequences.

Today is known as “Good Friday.”  I am not sure why we call it Good Friday.  Today is the day that Jesus Christ willingly gave His life up on a cross.  Today is the day that the culmination of mocking, beating, and trials concluded with Jesus Christ’s death.  Today is the day they placed His body in the tomb, and rolled the rock in front of it.

Why did all of that happen?  So, we didn’t have to suffer the eternal consequences of the sins we have committed.  Jesus in His magnificent glory took our punishments for us.  God has not changed, there is still punishment for those who fail to keep the decrees and commandments of the Lord.  The difference is, those who have stepped into covenant relationship with the Lord, have a sacrificial lamb who has already taken the punishment for us.

And…

God never stops loving us.

God will never break His covenant with us.

God will not take one single word back.

This is a pretty amazing promise written about David, that we can hold onto.

God hasn’t changed!

God is Faithful!

I am praising Him today.  Maybe that is why it is called Good Friday!

Leave a comment