Love God and Love People

James, Cephas and John, those esteemed as pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the circumcised. All they asked was that we should continue to remember the poor, the very thing I had been eager to do all along. (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭9-10‬ NIV)

Take care of those in need!

Paul is sharing with the church of Galatia his initial sending to preach the Gospel.  I will say that in today’s culture the person who preaches the Gospel is often times revered in ways they should not be.  We see it often times in larger ministries, and sometimes in smaller ministries.  There can be a perception that the person who is leading has a different relationship with the Lord then we do.

First of all that is dumbest thing I have heard in my life.  Because of what Jesus Christ did for us, and because of the empowering work of the Holy Spirit, we are all able to have a deep and meaningful relationship with Christ.  We are all equal in the Lord’s eyes.  He is no respecter of persons scripture says.

Second, they do not get pass.  They are men and women just like you and me.  They are called to be people of integrity and character just like us.  They are called to obey scripture just like you and I.

Third, we do not get a pass.  I have heard it said that ministry leaders set their standard one level below Jesus, and the people who are part of that ministry sets their standard one level below their leader.  If number one was not the dumbest thing I have heard in my life, then this one certainly is.

We are all called to live a life Holy before the Lord.  We are called to be obedient to the Word of God.

Now, I want to step off my soap box for just a second.  I am not sure anything was different back in the day.  Why would they need to tell Paul to make sure he still takes care of those in need?  Could it be because other leaders who were sent out were to (fill in the blank) to be able to help the needy?  Could it be that they had experience with other leaders failing to be who God has called all believers of Christ to be?  We are to Love the Lord our God with all of our heart, soul, mind, and strength, and we are to love our neighbor as ourselves.  Love God and Love People!  This means being aware, and helping those in need as well.

Paul was happy to do it, and he did do it.  The challenge is for us to not become to (fill in the blank) to be obedient to this challenge.  Nothing has changed, and we are still to Love God and Love People as well.

Leave a comment